CONCORDIA: GAME RULES

GAME MATERIAL

Game board: Imperium (3-5 players) / Italia (2-4 players)

) 2 2 S

5 storehouses

3 sea colonists ‘ 3 land colonists

80 wooden units of goods:

72 cards

110 wooden pieces in player colors red, green, yellow, blue, and black; per player:

brick ‘ food ‘ tool ‘ wine‘ cloth ‘

1 scoring marker . 15 houses .

30 city tokens 24 bonus markers

Coins (1, 2, 5 und 10 sestertii)
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65 personality cards Concordia Praefectus 5 player aids gar.ne ru ©
35 starting cards, 30 cards for sale, Card Magnus Card 1 quick intro
7 per player decks I - V* 1 historical information booklet
Game setup turn consists of playing 1 card from their  and then all players tally their final victory

The setup of CONCORDIA is described in
detail in the separate quick intro. Cards for
sale that are not needed are taken out of
the game (depending on the player count).
After randomly determining the start player,
the last player (player to the right of the start
player) receives the Praefectus Magnus.

Game flow

Players execute their turns in clockwise
order. A player’'s hand consists of his
un-played personality cards. A player’s

hand and executing the related actions.
All played cards form a personal discard
pile showing only the last card played. With
the Tribune, a player takes back all cards
previously played.

Game end

The game ends either after a player
purchases the last card from the display
on the board, or after the first player builds
his 15" house. In either case, this player
is awarded the CONCORDIA card. Now
all other players execute their final turn

PERSONALITY CARDS

points.
Scoring victory points

Each personality card is related to an
ancient god. These gods individually
reward certain achievements (for instance
number of populated provinces, number of
colonists, etc.)

If Concordia is played for the first time, it is
recommended to conduct an intermediate
scoring. The final (and intermediate)
scorings are described in detail on the last

page.

TRIBUNE

1. Recover cards

Example

The player recovers all of his previously played cards
back into his hand. If the player takes back more than
3 cards (including the Tribune in the count), he receives
1 sestertius per card past the 3rd from the bank.

2. 1 new colonist
In addition the player may optionally purchase 1 new
colonist by paying 1 food and 1 tool to the bank and placing

either a new land or sea colonist from his storehouse into
“Roma”.

A player who until now has played 4 cards now ommmmnn

plays his TRIBUNE card. Therefore he takes
a total of 5 cards back into his hand and
receives 2 sestertii from the bank.

In addition he decides to build a new colo-
nist. He pays 1 food and 1 tool to the bank
and places the new colonist inside ROMA on
the game board. The colonist discovers one
new storage spot for goods inside his storehouse.

*We apologize for a misprint on the Diplomat card in deck IV. The cost is tools, as depicted by the symbol.




PERSONALITY CARDS

ARCHITECT

1. Move colonists

The number of colonists a player has on the board
determines the number of possible movement steps that
a player can freely allocate to his own colonists. Land
colonists are moved only along the brown lines and
sea colonists only along the blue lines. A colonist’s first
movement step is out of his starting city onto an adjacent
line. Any further steps will move the colonist through a
city and onto the next adjacent line to that city. At the end
of his movement, a colonist cannot be placed on a line
that is already occupied by another colonist. However, a
colonist is allowed to move through occupied lines, adding
the occupied sections passed through into his movement
count.

2. Build houses (after all movements)

The player may build houses in cities adjacent to any of
his own colonists. Each new house built in a city is paid
with goods and coins to the bank:

» Goods: 1 food in a brick city, or 1 brick plus the good
of that city type in every other city.

» Coins: 1 sestertius in a brick city, 2 sestertii in a food
city, 3 in a tool city, 4 in a wine city, and 5 in a cloth city.

If a new house is built in a city where there are already
other houses, the cost in coins is multiplied by the number
of houses that will be in the city after this build (i.e., to build
the fourth house in a city the cost in coins is multiplied by
4). The cost in goods remains the same. Players may not
build more than 1 own house in a single city and never
in “Roma”.

Red has 3 colonists, 1 land colonist is located between “Colonia A.” and
“Novaria”, and the
other 2 are still in
“Roma”. Therefore he
has 3 movement steps g
available. The black
arrows show how he
allocates his movements
to his colonists. The sea
colonist from “Roma”
moves onto the sea line |
to “Massilia” (1 step),
and the land colonist
makes 2 steps onto the
line between “Aquileia”
and “Vindobona”.
After  moving  his
colonists he may build
houses. All in all there
are 5 cities adjacent to
his colonists. But as he
already owns a house
in “Colonia A.” only 4
cities remain where he could build. He has enough goods and cash to build
3 new houses. He builds a house in “Massilia” (5 sestertii, 1 cloth, and 1
brick), in “Novaria” (4 sestertii, 1 wine, and 1 brick) and in “Aquileia”
(6 sestertii, 1 food, and 1 brick). A house in a food city basically costs only
1 brick, 1 food, and 2 sestertii, but as “Aquileia’ already has 2 houses the
cash price is tripled. He pays the goods and sestertii to the bank and puts 3
new houses into the cities.

PREFECT

The player chooses between two alternatives:

a) The player chooses a province where the houses pro-
duce goods. He can only choose an active province
whose bonus marker (province tile) still shows the
goods symbol. It is not necessary that the player (or
any other player) owns a house in the chosen province.
He flips the bonus marker of the province to its coin side
and receives 1 unit of the goods type depicted on the
bonus marker out of the bank. In addition all houses
inside the province, regardless of their owner, each
produce one unit of the goods produced in that city.

or

b) Instead of producing the player may choose to collect
the cash bonus. For every visible coin on the bonus
markers he receives 1 sestertius from the bank. After-
wards all bonus markers are flipped back to the side
showing their good’s symbol.

Syria is able to produce because its bonus marker still shows the good’s
symbol. Red plays the Prefect card, chooses Syria, and receives a bonus of
1 cloth as shown on the bonus marker. The Syrian e
bonus marker is now flipped over to its coin side
and all houses in Syria produce: Red and Blue
receive I food each, and Yellow receives 1 cloth.

In the situation depicted down left a player who
chooses the cash
bonus would get 6
sestertii out of the
bank, because there
are 6 coins visible on
the bonus markers
(given that no other |
bonus markers show
coins) and the bonus
markers with coins would be turned over to show their
units of goods again.
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COLONIST

The player chooses between two alternatives:

a) The player may place new colonists on the game board
each to be paid for with 1 food and 1 tool. New colonists
can be placed inside “Roma” or inside any other city
where the player owns a house.

or

b) The player receives 5 sestertii plus 1 sestertius for each
of their own colonists on the game board.

Red has 2 food and 3 tools in his storehouse and plays the COLONIST card.
Paying 2 food and 2 tools he places 2 3

colonists. He decides to place a new sea
colonist in “Roma” and a new land
colonist in “Massilia”. He could also
have chosen to place one colonist in
“Aquileia ” instead, but not in “Novaria”
because he has no house there (obviously,
only a land colonist would be reasonable
in “Novaria”). Or he could even place 2
colonists in the same city.




PERSONALITY CARDS

) MERCATOR
Se=®® This turn is executed in 2 steps:

1. The player receives 3 sestertii out of the bank
(or 5 sestertii with a purchased Mercator).

2. He may then trade in two types of goods
with the bank. This means he may sell two
types, buy two types, or sell one type and
buy another. The number of units he may sell
and/or buy is only limited by the free space
inside his storehouse, where every single
unit occupies one storage space. The trade
is done at fixed prices, which are shown on
the roof of the storehouses.

Green has 2 sestertii cash and her storehouse is as depicted. She plays the Mercator
card and receives 3 sestertii (It's :
not a purchased Mercator). She
sells 3 units of wine for 3x 6 = 18
sestertii to the bank, so that the
total cash now is 23 sestertii. For
her second type of goods she
wants to buy bricks. She would
be able to pay for up to 7 bricks,
but there are only 5 storage
spaces  available in  the
storehouse so that she cannot buy more than 5 units. She decides to buy 4 units of
bricks paying 4x3=12 sestertii. She would have loved to buy a unit of food, but that is
not allowed as she has already traded in two different types of goods.

T8\ D1PLOMAT

The player executes an action from a

personality card that is on top of another
player’s discard pile and thus is displayed face
up in front of them. The action is executed the
same as if the player had played that card
himself. Actions of players who recently used a
Diplomat card or took back their cards into their
hand with their Tribune card cannot be copied.

The picture shows the personality cards recently played by the other 4 players.

The 5th player plays a
Diplomat card. He now
may either execute the
action of a Senator, an
Architect, or a Prefect.

HOD DIPLOMAT]}

SENATOR

The player may purchase up to two
personality cards from the display on
the game board and take them into his hand.
The price of a card is the sum of:

A

* The goods depicted inside the red field of the
card

» plus the goods depicted beneath the card’s
position on the game board, where a question
mark stands for a good of the player’s choice.

After the purchase(s), all remaining personality
cards inside the display move to the left if their left
position is empty, and the display is replenished
to the new total of 7 cards (as long as there are
fresh cards inside the stack)

The picture shows the
purchase the Mercator -
and the Architect card. -§ 7
1t costs 1 unit of wine -
for the Mercator card, -
and 1 tool and 1 brick
for the Architect card -
to the bank. Instead of
a brick he could have ;
paid with any other
type of goods as the
question mark allows
a free choice of goods for payment. He takes the Mercator and the Architect card into
his hand. Now the Prefect card moves by 1 and all other remaining cards by 2 positions
to the left. Finally the 2 free spots on the display are replenished with 2 new cards
from the stack. (The Farmer would have cost 1 brick, 1 food, and 1 cloth)

ConNsul,

The player may purchase one
personality card from the display on
the game board and take it into the hand. The
price consists only of the goods depicted inside
the red field of the personality card. Any goods
depicted beneath the card’s position on the
game board are ignored. As with a SENATOR,
the remaining cards inside the display move
to the left if their left position is empty, and the
display is replenished from the stack (as long as
the stack exists).

The player wants to purchase the Colonist card, .
which is located in 6th position inside the card’s '
display. He pays only 1 unit of food because the
goods depicted on the game board are ignored (I -
unit of free choice plus 1 cloth). But he cannot ‘
purchase more than 1 card. He takes the Colonist : |
into his hand and the Prefect card moves one
position to the left. The former position of the Prefect {
is replenished with a new card from stack. -

-----------------

SPECIALISTS

(Mason, Farmer, Smith,
Vintner, Weaver)

All the player’s houses of the
related type of goods produce one unit each.

The player has a total of 4 houses inside wine cities and plays the Vintner. She receives
4 units of wine and puts them on 4 empty storage spaces inside her storehouse. The
other players do not receive any goods.




FURTHER RULES

PRAFECTUS MAGNUS

If a player who currently owns the
PRAFECTUS M. plays a Prefect card (or
uses one with the Diplomat) in order to let
a province produce, he receives a double
bonus (2 units instead of 1). Production
inside the cities is not affected. After his
turn he hands the PRAEFECTUS M. to the
player sitting to his right. A player must use
the PRAEFECTUS M. when able and may
not choose to forego its benefit to keep it
for later. But if a player plays a PREFECT
card in order to receive the cash bonus,
the PRAEFECTUS M. is not activated and

remains with the player: it is not allowed to
double the cash bonus.

STOREHOUSE

Each player has a storehouse with 12
storage spaces. Each space may house
either one colonist or one unit of goods.
At the beginning of the game, 4 storage
spaces are occupied by colonists and
therefore are not available for housing
goods. However, if a player places new
colonists on the game board, additional
storage spaces become available. If all
spaces are occupied in one way or another,

INTERMEDIATE SCORING

no more units of goods can be taken in. It
is not allowed to discard goods in order
to make room for other ones instead. If a
player receives plenty of goods without
having enough empty storage spaces, it
is allowed to choose which specific units
of goods he wants to take, but not to leave
any storage spaces empty.

TRADE and STOCKPILE

Players are not allowed to trade goods
with each other. Goods and coins are
considered to be unlimited. The number of
colonists is restricted to 6 per player.

GAME END

If a player plays his Tribune card for the
first time in the game in order to take his
cards back into his hand, he immediately
performs a personal intermediate scoring.
He scores all his cards as described below
for the final scoring, and tallies his VP on
the VP-track.

After all players have played their Tribune
card for the first time and have received
the intermediate scoring, these scores are
compared and player with the highest score

receives 2 sestertii. Second place receives
1 sestertius. If players share the same
position, they all receive the same amount
(all'in 1t place receive 2 sestertii and all in
2" place receive 1 sestertius). After that,
all scoring markers move back to the zero
position on the VP-track.

We do not recommend performing
intermediate scoring if all players know
the game well.

FINAL SCORING

If a player purchases the last personality
card and such empties the display on the
game board, or if he builds his 15" house,
he receives the Concordia card, which is
worth 7 additional VP. Every other player
now executes his last turn before the final
scoring is done as described below.

The player with the most VP wins the
game. A tie is won by the player owning
PRAFECTUS MAGNUS, or by the tied
player who would receive him next in the
course of the game.

Each personality card is related to an ancient god who
rewards its owner with victory points. First players gather
all their cards, including the ones from their discard pile,
and arrange them according to the different ancient gods.
The back of the player aid shows a summary of the gods
and in which order they are scored. The victory points
assigned to each card that is marked with the respective
god are described in the following text. All victory points
(VP) are tallied with the player’'s score marker on the
VP-track. It is recommended to first score VESTA for all
players, then Jupiter etc.

VESTA

The value of all goods in the storehouse (usual price as
depicted) is added to the cash money. Then the player
receives 1 VP per full 10 sestertii, any fractions are
ignored.

JUPITER

For each house inside a non-brick city the player receives
1 VP. (max. 15 VP)

SATURNUS

For each province with at least one of their houses the
player receives 1 VP. (Imperium max. 12 VP, Italia max.
11 VP)

MERCURIUS

For each type of goods that the player produces with
their houses, he receives 2 VP. (max. 10 VP)

MARS

For each of his colonists on the game board the player
receives 2 VP. (max. 12 VP)

MINERVA

For each city of the related city type the player receives a
certain number of VP as depicted on the specialist’s card.

The player owns a total of 12 houses on the board of which 3 produce bricks,
4 produce food, 3 produce tools, and 2 produce cloth. They are distributed

over 7 provinces. Furthermore the player owns 5 colonists on
the game board, has a total of 13 sestertii, and owns the
Concordia card because he purchased the last card from the
display area on the game board. The storehouse
contains 1 cloth, 3 tools, and 1 brick. After
arranging the cards as shown to
the right, the final scoring gives

the following result:

VESTA: His goods are worth
7 (1 cloth) + 15 (3 tools) + 3 (I

brick) sestertii. Added to his cash
on hand (13 sestertii) he has 38

sestertii which are worth 3 VP,
JUPITER: As 3 of his 12 houses
are inside brick cities, he has 9
houses that count for this god.
With 2 cards assigned to Jupiter
he receives 2x 9 = 18 VP,
SATURNUS: As the player has
houses in 7 provinces and owns

4 cards assigned to Saturnus, he 7 o~ = =
receives 4 x 7 =28 VP. @ T- =

MERCURIUS: Unfortunately the

player has not built inside a wine city, but he does produce the other 4 types
of goods. For his 2 cards assigned to Mercurius he receives 2x 8 = 16 VP.

MARS: For his 5 colonists on the game board he receives 10 VP per card

assigned to Mars, hence 3 x 10 = 30 VP.

MINERVA: The player owns a farmer who rewards him with 3 VP for each
house inside a food city. With 4 such houses this results in 12 VP,

Together with 7 points from the Concordia Card the player therefore achieves

114 victory points.




